from I dont think I can, to wow: I believe :)

One of my new clients, asked me to help him gain muscle. When I first showed up he could only manage 2 or maybe 3 pullups. And he would be exhausted. After working with him for about 2 months. I took him back upstairs to his pull up bar. He had no faith in his ability to pull his weight above the chinup bar.

I have been doing pulldowns, narrow rows, rows the ground to the sky, and from the sky to his body, and pulling a barbell from over his head to his waist on a fitness ball. And working on his biceps with curls, hammer curls… The other day he was doing a pulldown with 200 pounds, and he only weighs 155. So I told him think positive, you can do it, just believe in yourself. If your pulling more than your weight for 20 repetitions for 2 sets. Then you can definitely do some pullups.

So he jumped up and knocked out 2 full sets of 8 pullups. I was like hhmmmph ” what did I tell you, you just have to have faith.” If you believe it then you can achieve it.

seek and ye shall find, knock and the door will be opened unto you….

He was really happy, and amazed that his strength had improved so much. My client is 46 years old, and his former trainer only got him strong enough to do 2 pullups, so obviously the work we were putting into the weight room, and his nutrition was paying off.

I see him 4 times a week in the mornings, and I see how much effort he puts in, and it motivates me to push him harder, and find new workouts for him to get him to gain the muscle he wants to add to his physique.. His strength levels have improved a ton since I first started with him…

Leave a Reply

